THE MISS RULE - AN EASY GUIDE WHEN REFEREEING

APPLYING THE (foul and a) MISS RULE
SECTION 3. RULE 14. Foul and a Miss.
Starts with: ‘the striker shall, to the best of his ability, endeavour to hit the ball on’
How much of the ‘ball on’ could be seen? 1. None 2. Part or 3. Full Ball.

1. None. (Snookered)
Question: Did the striker make a fair attempt to hit a ‘ball on’. (taking into account the standard of the striker.)
Answer: Yes. Then No Miss just a simple foul (normal 2 options)

No.

Question: Were snookers required before or as a result of the shot.

Answer: Yes. Then No Miss just a simple foul (normal 2 options)
No. FOUL and a MISS. (3 options)
(a) The next player plays from where the cue ball stopped.
(b) Striker is asked to play again from where the cue ball stopped or (c) balls are replaced.
(Remember, once the option has been declared to the referee it cannot be changed)

2, Part Ball. (Means No ‘Centre Ball’ contact is available on the ‘ball on’)
Question: Were snookers required before or as a result of the shot.
Answer: No. FOUL and a MISS. (3 options as above)

Yes

Question: Was the failure intentional.

Answer: No. Then No Miss just a simple foul (normal 2 options)
Yes. FOUL and a MISS. (3 options as above)
3. Full Ball. (Means ‘Centre Ball’ contact is available on a ‘ball on’)

Question: Was it the First or Second attempt.

Answer: Second. FOUL and a MISS plus a WARNING. (3 options as above)
First.
Question: Were snookers required before or as a result of the shot.

Answer: No. FOUL and a MISS. (3 options as above)
Yes.
Question: Was the failure intentional.

Answer: No. Then No Miss just a simple foul (normal 2 options)
Yes. FOUL and a MISS. (3 options as above)
Explanation

Basically, if the object ball can be seen, either in part or in full, then the striker MUST hit it. If he doesn’t, then a Foul
and a Miss has been committed and should be ‘called’. No matter what standard of play this should always apply.

If, however, the object ball cannot be seen and the striker has to use an ‘indirect route’ to it, and misses and in the
opinion of the referee, in taking into account his ability he has made a genuine attempt to hit it, then No Foul and a Miss
has been made.

Only an ‘ordinary foul’ can be ‘called’.

If the referee feels that the attempt to hit a ‘ball on’ was not genuine then he may call a Foul and a Miss.

Remember, that in the professional game, they have agreed to call any unsuccessful one-cushion escape (if snookers are
not required) a Foul and a Miss, no matter how close it was.

This does not apply to local snooker. (taking into account the standard of the striker.)

Follow these simple guidelines and you will avoid those unnecessary arguments.

You hope!! D.B.01.01.15



